Area students receive Burt Scholarship

Ryan Schlosser

Michael Chapman

Four area students recently received the Burt scholarship, an annual scholarship managed by the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation.

Ryan Schlosser of Allegany-Limestone Central School, Adam Moses of Olean High School, Christian Morales of Portville Central School and Michael Chapman of Hinsdale Central School all received the $1,000 Burt Scholarship.

Established by the Burt Committee of the First Presbyterian Church of Olean in memory of Dr. Rudy Burt, the $1,000 scholarship is given each year to one student each from Olean High School and Portville, Allegany-Limestone and Hinsdale Central Schools.

Christian Morales

Adam Moses

Schlosser will attend Saint Lawrence University to study conservation biology. Moses will study physics and astronomy at Vassar College. Morales will pursue a biology degree at St. Bonaventure. Chapman will attend Keuka College to study occupational therapy.

Donations can be made to the Burt Scholarship fund at the CRCF, 301 North Union Street, Suite 203, or online at

Established in 1994, the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation is growing good by connecting donors to the causes they care about most in the region. Grants from the foundation support many areas, including education, scholarships, health care, the arts, community development, human service, and youth development. To learn more, call (716) 301-CRCF (2723), email, or visit online at CRCF is also on Facebook ( and Twitter (@CattFoundation).


Please follow and like us: