Area students receive Community Foundation scholarships

Untitled-2Several area students received awards from scholarship funds at the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation.

“These scholarships target students graduating from specific high schools, some for specific areas of study and others for financial need. Each scholarship is tailored to the donors’ wishes,” said Karen Niemic Buchheit, Community Foundation executive director.

“Donors to these scholarships continue to make a positive impact in our communities, helping our students continue their educations,” she added.

Awardees include:

Michele Krahe Peace Olean High School Scholarship:

  • Madison Stavish of Olean High School, pursuing Accounting at SUNY Fredonia.

Established this year by David and Irene Krahe of Olean in memory of their daughter, this is a $500 scholarship for an Olean High senior with preference for a student pursuing an accounting or business degree. Ms. Stavish is receiving the first award from this scholarship fund.

Norman J. “Pete” Schussele Scholarship:

  • Kaitlyn McKeown of Olean High School, pursuing Psychology at SUNY Geneseo.

Established in memory of “Pete” Schussele by his family, this $500 award goes to an Olean High senior of good character who has a grade average above 85 percent and demonstrates financial need.

JoAnn Wehmeyer English Scholarship:

  • Thomas Kirk of Olean High School, pursuing Mathematics at SUNY Geneseo.

Established by former students in memory of Mrs. Wehmeyer, who taught English at Olean High School for 42 years, this $1,000 scholarship is awarded to an Olean High senior who excels in writing.

Hinsdale Alumni Association Memorial Scholarship:

  • Courtney Lentz of Hinsdale Central School, pursuing Biology at Jamestown Community College.

Established by the Hinsdale Alumni Association, this $1,000 scholarship is awarded to graduating seniors at Hinsdale Central School who have an average of 80 percent or higher, demonstrate qualities of good citizenship and good character, and have definite educational goals.

Otto/Otto-Eldred Alumni Scholarship:

  • Samantha Renninger of Otto-Eldred High School, pursuing Medical Office Administration at Pittsburgh Technical Institute.

Established by the Otto/Otto-Eldred Alumni Association, this $1,000 scholarship is given to seniors graduating from Otto-Eldred High School.

Ben & Rose Schwabenbauer Educational Scholarship:

  • Katie Smith of Otto-Eldred High School, pursuing Music Education at Clarion University.

Established by Ben and Rose Schwabenbauer, former long-time teachers in the Olean City School District, this $500 scholarship is awarded to a graduating senior from either Olean High School or Otto-Eldred High School who will attend college to pursue an elementary education related degree.

Mark J. Prockton Memorial Scholarship:

  • Zachary Stumpf of Hamburg High School, pursuing Engineering at University at Buffalo.

This $500 scholarship is for a Hamburg High senior who has lettered in track and has the highest GPA on the team. It was established in memory of Mark J. Prockton by his brothers.

Please follow and like us: