Cattaraugus-Little Valley students receive community foundation scholarships


Five students from Cattaraugus-Little Valley Central School recently received scholarships managed by the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation for a total of  $5,650.

Abby and Bailey Gostomski each received the May C. Carroll Scholarship.

The May C. Carroll Scholarship, $1,450 each this year, is given to a graduating senior who is a resident of Cattaraugus. Recipients must demonstrate academic promise and be active in extracurricular activities and community service. The May C. Caroll Trust established the scholarship.

Both of the Gostomski twins will attend Roberts Wesleyan College. Bailey will major in biology and Abby will begin with an undeclared major.

Kaylee Giambrone received the Eric Peters Memorial Scholarship for $1,000.

Established in memory of former Cattaraugus-Little Valley Central School student Eric Peters, this scholarship is for a graduating senior of Cattaraugus-Little Valley Central School with preference for a student who is also a member of Little Valley United Methodist Church.

Giambrone will study childhood inclusive education at SUNY Fredonia.

Maddy Crowley received the Alyn J. Heim Music Scholarship

The $1,000 scholarship is for a graduating Cattaraugus County student majoring in music. Preference is given to a student recommended by the Cattaraugus County Music Teachers Association. The recipient must demonstrate academic success as well.

Paul DeRitter, Mr. Heim’s former student at Manchester Regional High School in Haledon, NJ, and a musician and music educator at himself, established the scholarship to honor his former teacher. Mr. DeRitter taught elementary general music and instrumental music for 33 years in Franklinville.

Crowley will attend SUNY Fredonia to study music education.

Hailey Dunmire received the Wayne Krieger Memorial Scholarship.

Established the family of the late Cattaraugus County sheriff’s deputy, the Wayne Krieger Memorial Scholarship provides up to three $750 scholarships annually to a student at the Belmont, Olean and Ellicottville BOCES campuses who is planning to pursue a degree in criminal justice. Mr. Krieger was the department’s first canine officer and also acted as an officer for the DARE program. He passed away in 2010.

Dunmire will study criminal justice at Jamestown Community College.

Donations can be made to any of these funds at CRCF, 301 North Union Street, Suite 203 or online at

Established in 1994, the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation is growing good by connecting donors to the causes they care about most in the region. Grants from the foundation support many areas, including education, scholarships, health care, the arts, community development, human service, and youth development. To learn more, call (716) 301-CRCF (2723), email, or visit online at CRCF is also on Facebook ( and Twitter (@CattFoundation).



Please follow and like us: