Community Foundation names 2011 scholarship awardees

Hinsdale Central awardees Dustin Mendell (Burt Scholarship), Taylor Kent (Hinsdale Alumni Association Memorial and John J. Murphy Family scholarships) and Chelsea Kuhs (Jonathan Teuscher Scholarship) at their graduation ceremony Sunday, June 26.

June 29, 2011

The board of directors of the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation has announced the 2011 recipients of awards from its scholarship funds. This year’s award commitments total $85,500.

“As students and families struggle to pay for college during these difficult economic times, these scholarships make the overwhelming seem more possible,” said Karen Niemic Buchheit, Community Foundation executive director. “We’d like to publicly thank our scholarship donors for their role in helping students today attend the college of their choice and begin the next phase of their life with an extra measure of support.”

Burt Scholarship – Established by the First Presbyterian Church of Olean in memory of Dr. Rudy Burt, this scholarship is available to students graduating from Olean High, Allegany-Limestone Central, Hinsdale Central and Portville Central schools. This $1,000 award is given based solely upon a student’s financial need.

Awarded to: Alexa Campbell of Portville Central, Shelby Hurd of Allegany-Limestone Central, Dustin Mendell of Hinsdale Central and Madison Ozzella of Olean High.

Hinsdale Alumni Association Memorial Scholarship – Established by the Hinsdale Alumni Association, this $1,000 scholarship is available to graduating seniors at Hinsdale Central School. Applicants should have an average of at least 80 percent, demonstrate qualities of good citizenship and good character, and have definite educational goals.

Awarded to: Taylor Kent of Hinsdale Central.

Mohammed & Sakeena Iqbal Health Care Award – Established by Drs. Ahmad and Naheed Hilal in memory of their parents, this $500 scholarship is available to seniors graduating from Allegany-Limestone High School, ranked in the top 25 percent of the class, entering a discipline related to the medical field.

Awarded to: Rahul Thandla of Allegany-Limestone Central.

Kothari Family Fund Healthcare Scholarship – Established by Drs. Ashok and Yogini Kothari, this $500 scholarship is available to an Allegany-Limestone senior This award is based on financial need and SAT scores.

Awarded to: Anndrea Burgess of Allegany-Limestone Central.

Pat McGee Nursing Scholarship – Established through the Pat McGee Endowment, this fund is named in memory of the former New York State Senator representing the 57th district. Two awards are given each year to both traditional and non-traditional students in the 57th State Senate district pursuing nursing degrees. Students must maintain at least a C average. Students previously receiving the award also can reapply.

Awarded to: Allex Granger of Allegany-Limestone Central and Emily McCumiskey of Belfast Central.

John J. Murphy Family Scholarship – Established through a grant from the Communities Foundation of Texas, this scholarship is named in honor of John J. Murphy, Olean native and former president of Dresser Industries, Inc. This $10,000 scholarship, with $2,500 awarded per year for up to four years, is available to students in the Twin Tiers region. It is also available to students outside the region whose family members are employed by or have retired from Dresser Rand in Olean. Preference is given to students pursuing degrees in business, engineering or nursing. Selection criteria include scholastic achievement, school and community participation, demonstrated leadership potential and financial need.

Awarded to: Shawn Campbell of Portville Central, Piper Chester of Alfred-Almond Central, Allex Granger of Allegany-Limestone Central, Taylor Kent of Hinsdale Central, Chad Monkhouse of Allegany-Limestone Central, and Alexander Wright of Franklinville Central.

Olean Business Institute/McCarthy Scholarship – Given through the Catherine M. Cridler Trust, this scholarship is available to any student from New York or Pennsylvania who currently attends or plans to attend OBI and pursue a degree in business. Students previously receiving the award also can reapply.

Awarded to: Nicole Warren of Port Allegany.

Otto/Otto-Eldred Alumni Scholarship – Established by the Otto/Otto-Eldred Alumni Association, this $500 scholarship is available to seniors graduating from Otto-Eldred High School. Students must have a GPA of at least 2.75 and be accepted to an accredited 2-year school.

Awarded to: McKenna Emery of Otto-Eldred High.

Mark J. Prockton Memorial Scholarship – Graduating seniors of Hamburg High School who have lettered in track and have the highest GPA are eligible for this $500 scholarship established in memory of Mark J. Prockton by his brothers.

Awarded to: Madison Cole of Hamburg High.

Norman J. “Pete” Schussele Scholarship – Established in memory of “Pete” Schussele by his family, this award is available to Olean High School graduating seniors of good character who have grade averages above 85 percent and are in need of financial aid.

Awarded to: Eboni McClain of Olean High.

Jonathan Teuscher Scholarship – Established by Steven and Donna Teuscher in memory of their son, Jonathan, this scholarship is awarded to a graduate who has faced challenges while maintaining a positive attitude. An award is given for each year of continued education. It is available to graduating seniors from Allegany-Limestone, Hinsdale Central, Olean High, Portville Central and Archbishop Walsh High schools.

Awarded to: Josh Cook of Archbishop Walsh Academy, Kalene Ganoung of Portville Central, George Harrington of Allegany-Limestone Central, Chelsea Kuhs of Hinsdale Central and Victoria Swier of Olean High.

JoAnn Wehmeyer English Scholarship – Established by former students in memory of Mrs. Wehmeyer, who taught English at Olean High School for 42 years, this award is available to an Olean High School senior who excels in writing and has the ability to make a difference.

Awarded to: Jessica Swetland of Olean High.

Established in 1995, The Community Foundation is growing good by connecting donors to the causes they care about most in our region. Grants from the foundation support many areas including education, scholarships, health care, the arts, community development, human service and youth development. To learn more, call, email or visit us online at

For more information, contact the Community Foundation at (716) 372-4433, email or visit Find us on Facebook at

Please follow and like us: